Skip to content ↓

Samuel Whitbread Academy



The annual Year 13 awards ceremony took place on Wednesday 13th September 2023. The evening celebrated the outstanding academic and social achievement of the Year 13 class of 2023.

The ceremony was opened by Principal, Mr N Martin and Head Students Madeline and Max.

The first set of awards to be announced were the Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards, presented by:

  • Mr Lee Huckle (Head of Sixth Form)
  • Mr Cral Tonking (Assistant Head of Sixth Form)
  • Miss Annie Corbishley (Post 16 Aspirations Lead)

After the first set of awards, the audience listened to a musical performance by Rose Speller, who sang “Hopelessly Devoted to You”, an outstanding performance.

After the interval, guest Speaker Festus Akinbusoye delivered an inspirational speech to the audience.

Next, the Special Awards were presented as follows:

  • The Governors Community Award for outstanding contribution to the community, presented by Steve Botterill.
  • The ACO Technologies Award for outstanding contributions to Engineering, presented by Mike Simpson Lane.
  • The Barbara Tye Award for Outstanding Resilience in the Face of Adversity, presented by the Mayor of Shefford, Ken Pollard.
  • The Jonathan Kitulagoda Award for Outstanding Contribution to Science, presented by Nick Martin (Principal).
  • The Lynda Tailor Award for Outstanding Contribution to Sports, presented by Nick Martin (Principal).
  • The Robson Award for Outstanding Personal Qualities, presented by Nick Martin (Principal).
  • The Principal’s Awards for Outstanding Academic Achievement (A level and BTEC), presented by Nick Martin (Principal).
  • The Sir Samuel Whitbread House Cup, presented by Charles Whitbread.

To close the evening, last year’s Head Students Esme Frankland and Amy Hutchinson finished the evening with some words for their fellow peers and their families.