Skip to content ↓

Samuel Whitbread Academy

Year 9 Subject Options

Helping you make your subject choices

Our broad and balanced Key Stage 4 curriculum offer has been designed to strike a balance between making sure that students study a wide range of subjects and allowing them to develop their own interests.  We have taken great care to ensure that what is offered at Key Stage 4 within school reflects the rapidly changing national picture where GCSEs are undergoing fundamental reform and also ensures that the academy is complying with the current government proposal which is moving towards the English Baccalaureate.

Our most successful students understand their chosen courses reflect their passion for the subject and their future career ambitions. Information about our 6th form, the courses that are currently on offer and an idea of the GCSE or BTEC grade requirements to take these subjects, are also available on our website. This is obviously a few years away but it is a great idea to look to the future and then work backwards regarding GCSE choices. 

This is clearly an important decision for all involved and needs to be carefully considered. Please ensure your daughter / son discusses their options with you and takes on board all the information and advice to make the right decisions for them and their futures.

Below you will find recorded presentations from the leaders of all the options we offer.

 

CORE SUBJECTS:

English curriculum - language and English Literature

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

maths curriculum

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

Science curriculum - single and double

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

 

 

EBACC OPTIONS:

geography

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

history

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

french or spanish -Modern Foreign Languages

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

computer science

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

 

 

OPEN OPTIONS:

ICT - BTEC L2

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

Art and design

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

textiles

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

business studies

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

business & enterprise - btec

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

health & social care - btec

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

dance

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

drama

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

design & technology - timber

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

design & technology - engineering

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

design & technology - paper & board

For more information please contact:
Tracey Lund, 
Head of Design Technology
tlund@bestacademies.org.uk

design & technology - food

For more information please contact:
Tracey Lund, 
Head of Design Technology
tlund@bestacademies.org.uk

btec engineering

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

film studies

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

creative media - btec

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

modern foreign languages

For more information please contact:
Ashleigh Simister
, Head of MFL
asimister@bestacademies.org.uk

music

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

music - BTEC l2

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

philosophy & ethics

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

psychology

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

sociology

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

pHYSICAL education - BTEC and GCSE

 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

 

 

 

If you have any questions directed to specific Subject Departments, you can email the Heads of Departments directly below.

Ashleigh Simister
Head of MFL
asimister@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Hannah Meadows
Head of Music
hmeadows@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Jayne Moffat
Head of Science
jmoffat@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Jennifer Swift
Sendco
jswift@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Cheryl Burgoyne
Head of ART
cburgoyne@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Laura Jonson
Head of English
ljonson@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Leanne Cross
Head of Media and Film
lcross@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Lucy Jones
Head of Drama
ljones@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Michael Inns
Head of History
minns@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Sam Tawede
Head of Religious Studies
stawede@bestacademies.org.uk

Christine Wall
Head of Maths
cwall@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Jason Hatchell
Head of Geography
jhatchell@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Jennie Philbin
Head of Business
jphilbin@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Jimmy Hart
Head of PE
jhart@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Kim Blessing
Head of Health and social care
kblessing@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Lauren Nye
Head of Psychology
lnye@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Liz Major
Head of Dance
emajor@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Matt Barber
Head of Computer Science
mbarber@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Phil Johnson
Head of Sociology
pjohnson@bestacademies.org.uk

 

Tracey Lund
Head of Design Technology
tlund@bestacademies.org.uk